top of page
Writer's pictureProphetess Equilla Miller

YOU CAN DEFEAT FEAR!


What are you afraid of? That's the question I want to ask you today. What has been tormenting you? You might think gees that's a strong word. But the Bible tells us that fear comes with torment! Look at 1 John 4:18 (KJV) which reads, There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.


So again, fear comes with torment and should be dealt with immediately. Fear is a painful emotion or passion excited by an expectation of evil, or the apprehension of impending danger. I'm betting you're like me in the fact that I don't want to live with fear in my life.


In fact, God loves you with a perfect love and He does not desire for you or me to live with fear any longer. Here's another fact, the phrase “fear not” (it appears 71 times in the King James Version of the Bible). To me that means that it is really important for us to deal with any and every fear that is in our lives, that's why I am writing this post, to show you how to overcome fear!


You must know that fear does not come from God. 2 Timothy 1:7 says,(KJV) For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. The word of God identifies that "Fear" is a spirit and since it is a spirit, we must deal with it in spiritual warfare. Understand that you have authority over the spirit of fear. Look at Luke 10:19 (TPT) which says Now understand that I have imparted to you all my authority to trample over his kingdom. You will trample upon every demon before you and overcome every power Satan possesses. Absolutely nothing will be able to harm you as you walk in this authority. So has a born-again Believer in Jesus Christ, you have been given authority to deal with evil spirits, that includes the spirit of fear.


One of the first ways you can deal with the spirit of fear when it manifests in your life is to bind it in the name of Jesus! Matthew 18:18 (KJV) Verily I say unto you, Whatsoever ye shall bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever ye shall loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven. So since we already learned that fear brings torment, bind the spirit of fear and loose the peace! Also, we have also read that perfect love cast out fear, you say I bind and cast out fear and loose the perfect love of God in my life! Do you see? We use the word of God to deal with spiritual matters. This is how you will overcome the spirit of fear in your life.


Let's go a little further, prayer is a spiritual act, so therefore, prayer is spiritual warfare. When we talk about warfare it paints a picture of an army or a soldiers and it is said that we are soldiers in the army of the Lord. As soldiers we need to be familiar with our armor and our weapons.


Take a look our armor, you are probably familiar with this next passage of scriptures.

Ephesians 6:12-18 (KJV) 12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. 13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. 14 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; 15 And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: 18 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints.


Remember Fear is a spirit. Many times fear attacks in our minds or emotions, understanding that let's look at our weapons in 2 Corinthians 10:3- 5 says, For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.


Now that you know that "Fear" is a spirit and it that takes spiritual weapons, not natural weapons overcome it, and that prayer is our spiritual weapon, let's look at some scriptural prayers:


Psalm 27:1 (KJV) says, The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?


This next prayer is good for those who are dealing with the fear of man or people in your life.

Proverbs 29:25 (KJV) says, The fear of man bringeth a snare: but whoso putteth his trust in the Lord shall be safe.


Psalm 118:6-7 (GW) says, The Lord is on my side. I am not afraid. What can mortals do to me? 7 The Lord is on my side as my helper. I will see the defeat of those who hate me.


For those who you are afraid of global warming or any kind of natural storms, I recommend praying and meditating on Psalm 46:1-2 (NIV) which says, 1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. 2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,


Here's one for those of you who may be dealing with fear in your dreams or nightmares:

Psalm 3:5-6 (NIV) 5 I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the Lord sustains me. 6 I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.


No matter what the fear is your facing, go to God in prayer for deliverance! Isaiah 12:2 (NIV) says, Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord himself, is my strength and my defense[a]; he has become my salvation.


Well, I believe you have enough to get started with dealing and overcoming all your fears. I would also suggest that you read and meditate on Psalms 91 in it's entirety for 30 days, it will surely give you peace and knowledge of God's daily protection in your life.


Until next time, be blessed my friends.


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page